Fourteen Down and Two To Go

Woo hoo!  We are definitely in the home stretch of the Wisconsin Protocol!

Sarge had his fourth and last dose of Cytoxan this morning.  (This is the drug that put him in the hospital the first time he had it.)  He’s done a lot of snoozing today, but he ate well and we did a couple of long walks. 

I’ve been a little concerned over the past week to 10 days because Sarge has had relatively low energy and also a slight decrease in appetite.  Usually Vincristine is a non-event for him, so I am guessing that that turbo-charged Adriamycin may still be affecting his tummy.  I wrote up a description of his symptoms and brought them into the animal hospital today: loss of appetite, occasionally spitting up small amounts of clear liquid and a few pieces of kibble, and showing a “more than normal” interest in eating grass.  I asked if I could give Sarge a Pepcid to see if that would help what seems to be a sour stomach.  The vet wrote me back on the discharge instructions (I never see the man anymore) that I could give Sarge 1.5 pills of 10 mg Pepcid every 24 hours.  I did not give him any today so far because I am paranoid about drug interactions. 

Pepcid

Pepcid makes the tummy feel better

But I will give him some tomorrow if he stills acts like his tummy is upset.

The good news is that I haven’t noticed any more blood in his poop over the past week.  Yay for healthy lookin’ poop!

And lastly, we will end with a shout out to Mr. Darcy, who is one of Sarge’s friends in the neighborhood.  Mr. Darcy was recently diagnosed with lymphoma and he started chemo a couple of weeks ago.  Rooooooo to you, Mr. Darcy, and we hope you are doing well.

Leave a comment