Appetite is Still Not Where It Should Be

I gave Sarge some Pepcid each night for the past three nights.  I think it has reduced his sour stomach because he seems to have more energy, and he has not spit up for a few days.  But his appetite is still not right, i.e., he has turned away from his food bowl a few times including this morning when I had put canned salmon on top of his kibble.  He picked at the salmon but then he walked away from the kibble.  I had to keep adding salmon until he couldn’t eat the salmon without getting some of the kibble.

I did not give him the usual phase 2 of breakfast before leaving for church just to see if waiting a couple hours would jump start his hunger.  Luckily he did eat his Phase 2 meal (at 1 PM) with some gusto.

We then went to a greyhound meet and greet in the afternoon, and the woman who was hosting went overboard with the treats when she heard Sarge was on chemo (and lately not eating as he should).  Sarge was a maniac in terms of eating the treats she offered.  I just hope we don’t have to deal with the Big D later tonight or tomorrow.  :-0

I don’t think Sarge is manipulating me in terms of faking a loss of appetite in order to raise the food bar.  But, he is a very smart boy who has been known to wrap you around his paw.  Last year he manipulated Kate, the woman who keeps him when I go out of town, into moving him from the kennel with the rest of the dogs into the comfort of her home by acting all depressed and lethargic.  The little stinker!

Gotta go…I’m off to the grocery store to buy more irresistible goodies.

P.S.  A couple more recommended foods (I haven’t tried either yet): Weruva soft dog food and Great Life dried beef liver treats crumbled over the usual kibble.

Leave a comment