M’s Sarge: 12/18/1999 – 7/23/2011

I had to let my sweet boy, Sarge, go last Saturday.

About 4 weeks ago, I learned that his cancer was back.  Since then, I had more and more difficulty getting him to eat, and he got down to 70 lbs., which is 5 – 7 lbs. less than where I liked to see him.   He started bleeding from his mouth on Friday, the 22nd, but I and the vet were hoping that it was just from bad teeth and gums.  But when I woke up Saturday morning, Sarge had problems walking and he would periodically just collapse.  I had a mobile vet come to the house at 11:30 AM and she helped him pass on.

Even though we did not know Friday night would be his last, we made it a good one: a Wendy’s double cheeseburger for dinner and around 10 PM we spent some time laying in a cool patch of grass on a warm summer night.

I am going to miss him terribly.

M's Sarge

M's Sarge

Leave a comment