Three and a Half Weeks Post-Chemo

Doing good, doing good, doing good.  Sarge did regress in terms of his desire to eat in the mornings, so I put him back on the Pepcid about a week ago (10 mg).  I’ve been giving him cottage cheese and straight-up meat (chopped chicken or turkey meathballs) as his first meal of late, and we’ve managed to get that down every day.  By the afternoon feeding, he seems back to normal.  I hope his tummy feels better soon.

The only other obvious side effect of the chemo has been Sarge’s natural gas production.  It’s not excessive in terms of frequency but when he passes gas, it’s enough to clear the room!

Oh…and I gave him flea treatment (Frontline Plus) today for the first time since we went on the chemo journey.  I hate to put that stuff on them, but I found a tick on Daphne a couple of weeks ago, and she has been doing a little bit of scratching of late, so I couldn’t put it off any longer.  The initial chemo instructions said it was okay to do the heartworm and flea preventative treatments throughout the chemo; we were just to avoid it within 24 hours of the actual chemo.

Overall, life is good at the moment.  In particular, the weather has been beautiful of late, and Sarge has enjoyed being a sun dog in the backyard.

Enjoying a sunny day

Enjoying a sunny day

Leave a comment